University of California, Riverside

UCR Newsroom

AAAS Fellows Named for 2005

Eight UCR Faculty Members Named 2005 AAAS Fellows

Researchers honored for contributions in entomology, anthropology, biological sciences, physics and economics

(October 27, 2005)

RIVERSIDE, Calif. — The American Association for the Advancement of Science has named eight UC Riverside faculty members as 2005 AAAS fellows, bringing the total number of UCR faculty who have been recognized with this distinction to 129. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

"UCR congratulates the eight faculty members who've been awarded the AAAS fellow distinction," said Charles Louis, vice chancellor for research. "Their election reflects the high quality of their work and shows that research being done on our campus is receiving national attention."

This year a total of 376 members were awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 18, 2006, at the Fellows Forum during the 2006 AAAS Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Mo.

The UCR honorees, whose contributions cover research areas that include entomology, anthropology, biological sciences, physics and economics, are:
Michael F. Allen, in the Biological Sciences section.
Citation: For distinguished research in mycorrhizal biology, contributing to understanding the effects of mycorrhizal fungi on ecosystem dynamics, and for exemplary service to the academic community.

Julia N. Bailey-Serres, in the Biological Sciences section.
Citation: For fundamental contributions to understanding the program of transcriptional control in plants that is activated under hypoxia, heat, cold, and osmotic stress.

Daniel R. Gallie, in the Biological Sciences section.
Citation: For seminal contributions to understanding the post-transcrip-tional regulation of protein synthesis and molecular response mechanisms of plants to environmental stress.

Timothy D. Paine, in the Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources section.
Citation: For significant contributions to ornamental/urban landscape entomology, forest entomology, and pest management administration.

Thomas C. Patterson, in the Anthropology section.
Citation: For distinguished contributions to anthropology, especially theories of class and state formation, South American archaeology, critical analyses of archaeological theory, and history of the discipline.

Richard C. Sutch, in the Social, Economic, and Political Sciences section.
Citation: For distinguished contributions to economic history, particularly for studies on the emancipation of slaves in the United States and the history of saving and retirement.

Chandra M. Varma, in the Physics section.
Citation: For distinguished contributions to the quantum statistical theory of strongly-interacting particles, particularly to theories of superconductivity, magnetism, and disordered systems.

Zhenbiao Yang, in the Biological Sciences section.
Citation: For pioneering research in plant cell biology contributing to the present understanding of molecular mechanisms underlying cell polarity, cytoskeletal dynamics, and cell morphogenesis in plants.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the AAAS's 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS Chief Executive Officer.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science. AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The non-profit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy; international programs; science education; and more.

The University of California, Riverside ( is a doctoral research university, a living laboratory for groundbreaking exploration of issues critical to Inland Southern California, the state and communities around the world. Reflecting California's diverse culture, UCR's enrollment has exceeded 21,000 students. The campus opened a medical school in 2013 and has reached the heart of the Coachella Valley by way of the UCR Palm Desert Center. The campus has an annual statewide economic impact of more than $1 billion.

A broadcast studio with fiber cable to the AT&T Hollywood hub is available for live or taped interviews. UCR also has ISDN for radio interviews. To learn more, call (951) UCR-NEWS.

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

Media Relations
900 University Avenue
1156 Hinderaker Hall
Riverside, CA 92521

Tel: (951) 827-6397 (951) UCR-NEWS
Fax: (951) 827-5008

Related Links